4 Types of Navratri in a Year: Know All Seasonal Names

Many believers do not know that Navratri falls four times a year during different seasons. Although each Navratri holds its own significance yet Shardiya Navratri is the most famous one among the followers of Devi Durga who is the prime goddess and legend of the festival of Navratri.

All About Navratri Festival: 9 Navdurga Puja Days and Dates
All About Navratri Festival: 9 Navdurga Puja Days and Dates

About Navratri Puja Days & Dates


As per the Hindu texts on which Hindus believe, such as Vaishnava Purana and Shakta Purana, Navratri falls four times or twice a year.

Although Navratri is celebrated four times a year, yet it always falls in the bright half of lunisolar months, as per the Hindu calendar called Panchang.

Let’s know about all four types of Navratri with their seasonal names and the months in which they are marked.

Sharadiya Navratri or Maha Navratri or Ashwin Navratri

Also Known As
Ashwin Navratri, Navdurga Puja, Durga Puja
Also Spelled As
Navratra, Navaratri, Navarathri, Ashvini Navratra, Sharad Navratri, Sharada Navratri, Sharda Navratri

Sharadiya Navratri, which is the most celebrated Navratri type, is considered as the main Navratri and so also known as Maha Navratri.

As per Panchang or Lunar calendar, it comes near autumn equinox during the Lunar month of Ashvin.

As per the Gregorian months of the English Calendar, Navratri is observed in September and October as the post-monsoon autumn festival.

In some regions, Sharada Navratri falls during autumn harvest and in some, after the autumn harvest.

As its name suggests, Sharadiya Navratri falls post-monsoon during Sharad Ritu that is known as autumn in English.

The exact dates of nine days are determined as per the Hindu lunisolar calendar that shows dates as per the movements of the Sun and the moon and leap year.

It is celebrated for nine nights and 10 days. Alike all other Navratri types, Shardiya Navratri also occurs once a year.

Other than Goddess Durga and Lord Rama, many other Gods and Goddesses are also worshipped, such as God Ganesha, Shiva, Kartikeya, Krishna, and Goddess Saraswati, Lakshmi, and others.

Chaitra Navratri or Vasanta Navratri

Also Known As
Navdurga Puja, Annual Navratra
Also Spelled As
Basant Navratri, Nava Ratri, Navratra, Navarathri

Vasant Navratri is the next most significant Navratri which falls in March or April, near spring equinox.

Ashadha Navratri or Gayatri Navratra

Also Known As
Gupta Navratra

It falls in June or July while the beginning of the Monsoon season.

Magha Navratri

Also Known As
Gupta Navratra

Magha Navratri falls in January or February during the winter season.

Its fifth day is also observed as an independent event of significance and known as Basant Panchami or Vasant Panchami.

This is celebrated as the official beginning of Basant/Vasant that is spring wherein the followers of Goddess Saraswati honor her through music, art, writing, and kite flying in Hindu tradition.

In some regions of India, this day is celebrated to revere Kama, the Hindu God of love.

Click to Share
Snehpost logo
Today Events
Foods Beverages